At the farmers market

I recently paid a visit to the McCarren Park Greenmarket (I’m excited that my new home is very close). It’s quite a small market but has a good selection of fruit and vegetables, along with meat, cheese and a textile recycling bank, which I donate clothes to whenever I can. I don’t usually go to farmers markets with a plan, unless I have a specific recipe in mind, because I really enjoy wandering aimlessly and selecting whatever looks most appealing to me. I picked up kale, cherry tomatoes, baby sweet peppers, plums and some walnut and current bread. Contrary to popular belief about the expense of organic, local produce, everything I bought would have cost the same if not more in my local grocery store.

The easiest thing to make when you have a handful of vegetables is to make a giant, healthy salad that you can eat for a couple of days so I did exactly that. I cooked the kale and peppers with garlic, ginger and a little olive oil and cooked some quinoa to mix in. Quinoa only takes about 15 minutes to cook and is a good source of fiber, protein, magnesium and iron. A popular Inca food, it’s recently become widely available and touted for its many health benefits. I mixed the cooked vegetables, quinoa and cherry tomatoes with feta and mint. I wonder if it’s because I’m part Greek that I like to add lemon, mint, feta and olive oil to everything or perhaps it’s because it makes everything delicious!


This entry was posted in Food, Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

