Out getting reinforcements

Apologies for my brief absence from blogging. Two casts, four doctors appointments, one surgery and far too many painkillers later, my wrist looks like this…

Two and a half weeks after the break, I went back to the doctor for an x-ray. Instead of hearing that my arm was healing well, he told me that the broken bone was misaligned. It could be ok but the bone had moved further apart than 2 weeks prior and he worried that the jagged edge might aggravate my tendons. In addition, if it continued to move, the bone might have to be re-broken later on so he suggested that I have surgery and a metal plate put in place to hold the bone together. Since this was about to be my first surgery I was a bit shocked at the prospect of a metal plate in my arm, but it seemed like the best option so I asked them to book me in straight away.

My surgery was scheduled just 2 days after the diagnosis. I had to get medical clearance to state that I was healthy enough to have the operation and then my surgery was set for 10.30am on Friday 25th Feb. I was told not to eat or drink anything after midnight the day before; apparently this is so that I didn’t choke to death on my own vomit during anesthesia – lovely. After arriving in the hospital and filling in what seemed like form after form about my general well-being and health, I got dressed in the beautiful hospital gowns and slipper socks. Here I am – pretty happy but nervous beforehand – I’m not posting the picture of me after looking like death!


I was taken to the patient waiting room and given an IV drip in my right hand (since the nurse couldn’t find the vein in my elbow) and this was probably the worst part of the whole experience. They marked my left hand, to make sure they knew which arm to operate on, and I had to sign more forms – with a squiggly line since my left was in pain and my right was immobilized by a drip. They seemed to have an endless supply of warm blankets in the hospital and reading someone else’s similar experience about the blankets made me laugh. The doctor was running slightly behind schedule so my surgery ended up being about an hour late. I was taken into the operating room where I think my jaw dropped at the array of shiny metal and machines. I managed to get onto the operating table and all I remember is having monitors put on me, an Oxygen mask on my nose, sedative given to me via the drip and someone talking and looking for the nerves to place the block or local anesthetic on my entire left arm.

I woke up about 2 hours later completely oblivious to what had happened, wanting to sleep and needing the toilet. My entire arm was numb and a dead weight which is a very horrible, strange sensation. It was also wrapped in a bandage twice the size of my arm so I had no idea what was underneath and was wondering if I even had an arm left. The next few days were painful and slow and I wasn’t able to do much except sleep. But after one week I had the bandage taken off and was able to type. I currently feel great and only feel pain when I try to stretch my wrist or lift something heavy. I’ll be going to physical therapy twice a week to get my flexibility and strength back. Sadly I can’t do any yoga or weight-bearing activities for a couple of months but aside from that I’m almost back to normal and hope to begin training for the Brooklyn half marathon next week. Allegedly I won’t set off the metal detectors in the airport either but I have yet to test that out.

Also thanks to my amazing readers who sent me questions, I hope to answer them shortly.

This entry was posted in Bones, Doctors. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Out getting reinforcements

  1. awildermode says:

    Wishing you a speedy and less painful recovery. Your implant looks great, would love to see your scar. It has been about five months since my injury, and I pretty much have full mobility and strength. I also take a photo of my scars every week, which can be seen here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/awildermode/sets/72157624991081433/ Warning, some photos maybe disturbing.

    Tip: Do your therapy homework. It will help in getting your range of motion back.

    Good Luck! Oh, no need to worry about metal detectors. I have been through few since without setting them off.

  2. Yalda says:

    I love you xxxx

  3. Lou says:

    You look so cute in that hat! xxx

  4. killereees says:

    that hospital bed is pricelessly adorable!

  5. Pingback: Zooooooooom | health food soul

Leave a Reply

