New food obsession: City Bakery

What’s better that hot chocolate on a snowy New York day? I can’t believe I hadn’t been to the City Bakery before today. It wasn’t cheap but it was worth it for a delicious lunch of cornbread encrusted catfish, smoked tofu, broccoli, zucchini and kale with hazelnuts.


My dark chocolate hot chocolate was delicious and that is one giant marshmallow!

I’m sure I’ve been into City Bakery’s sister Birdbath bakery in the East Village when wandering past. Although at the time I had no idea about its green credentials: biodegradable cups made of corn, a cork floor, vintage fixings and a bamboo table. It also uses organic produce and milk and cream from a local farm so I will have to check it out more closely next time I’m in the neighborhood.

This entry was posted in Food, New York restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

